Projectitis: Kitchen Pantry Cabinet Storage

This is probably not as big of a deal to you as it is to me. Because you probably have a lot of cabinet space in your house. Or maybe you have a whole walk-in space that stores all your kitchen stuff.

Well, turns out 119 year old houses do not have such a thing unless you create them yourself. If you have one of these house, you know what I’m talking about.

When we moved in, the previous owners over the years did a gut-rehab to the place, but they did a crap job for many reasons including…

#1- They didn’t build a surplus of downstairs cabinets, storage or closet space. It’s quite possible that we have more “stuff” than the average person and that’s why we noticed, but that’s besides the point.

#2- They didn’t restore the house to reflect ANYTHING resembling the charm of a Victorian Farmhouse. Nicole Curtis from Rehab Addict would be freaking out if she saw what they did to my house (Drop ceiling– in a kitchen??? For the love of…WHY?). It was home restoration sacrilege.

Basically, I’m left with a house that I don’t want to put a ton of money into, but I still want to made modifications to so that I can love living here. So I was on a mission for a kitchen pantry cabinet.

For years, we’d been using this Mexican Pine Armoire to store our stuff and it served us well. It was a clever way to store a lot, including a microwave. I put in baskets and dish separators to organize and it was a good use of the furniture while it lasted.

Mexican Pine Cabinet
Used a Mexican pine media storage cabinet for our food. It was fun for a while. Adios!

Our kitchen isn’t small; it’s a medium size— nothing compared to how they build kitchens with new construction. I wanted a new cabinet that was created FOR a kitchen; something that was skinnier and taller. I’ve been watching Craigslist like a hawk and I finally scored a brand new cabinet for $50 that worked with the space. Rolling shelves store all our food and containers, plus space above for our microwave. Always feels good to make small changes that give us a little more room to walk around. When you have a small room, the key is to have tall furniture so that you can store up, rather than fat furniture that takes up too much horizontal space.

Image
$50 for a new storage solution=Carmamma happy

Leave a comment